And, according to Pettersen, it was a lengthy conversation.
In an interview on Golf Channel’s “Golf Central” Wednesday night, Pettersen reflected on the incident that ruled the aftermath of the Solheim Cup, when U.S. player Alison Lee thought a putt on the 17th green was conceded only to have Pettersen argue it wasn’t. Pettersen and Charley Hull won the fourball match 2 up, but the U.S. won the cup 14 1/2 to 13 1/2.
During the interview, Pettersen said Mickelson called her Sunday night — not long after the matches concluded — and they talked for “hours.” They both work with Butch Harmon.
“One of the first players to reach out to me was Phil on Sunday night,” Pettersen said. “I don’t know how I can thank him enough for the words and the hours on the phone, the conversations we had for the good and bad. This went both ways. He wasn’t just trying to pat me on the shoulder, ‘like this will be fine.’ He asked me some critical questions, and I had to answer them. We all kind of ended on a good note.”
Mickelson, who will play in next week’s Presidents Cup, is no stranger to controversy during international events.
courtesy of Josh Berhow (golf.com)