Lexi Thompson, through tears, addresses ANA snafu: ‘It was kind of a nightmare’

Lexi Thompson pauses after becoming emotional while speaking to reporters about her loss at the ANA Inspiration.

Lexi Thompson, speaking for the first time since losing the ANA Inspiration in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu earlier this month, likened her four-shot penalty experience to a nightmare.

“I played amazing that week,” Thompson said, through tears. “I don’t think I’ve ever played any better. Just for that to happen…it was kind of a nightmare.”

Thompson is in the field for this week’s Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, her first tournament since the ANA Inspiration. Thompson was assessed a pair of two-stroke penalties for hitting her ball from the wrong spot on the 17th hole and then signing an incorrect scorecard after the third round of the LPGA’s first major. Her violations, however, didn’t surface until the following day, when a TV viewer called the LPGA to report the potential penalties. She was told of the four-stroke penalty walking off the 12th green Sunday, and went from leading the tournament to trailing by two before her eventual playoff loss.

Following much discussion over social media, the USGA and R&A announced Tuesday an immediate change to the rules of golf in an attempt to protect players from being penalized for infractions that “could not reasonably have been seen with the naked eye.” Decision 34-3/10 does not eliminate viewer call-ins.

Thompson said in her press conference that while she could see where the rules officials were coming from, she stands by the fact that she has always played golf by the rules.

“The hardest part, just going through it,” Thompson said, breaking down, “I’ve worked my whole life to have my name on major championship trophies, especially that one. It’s a very special week for me with all the history behind it.”

Thompson said she never intended to mark her ball on the 17th hole during the third round, instead planning to tap in the short putt. But she said she talked herself into marking because she had missed many tap-ins previously. There was nothing in her line, and she referred the condition of the greens as “perfect.”

“I have no reason behind it,” Thompson said of her decision. “I did not mean it at all.

“I mark my ball with a dot and that’s where I focus my eyes on where I want to make contact,” Thompson said. “So when I went to mark it, I just rotated my ball to line up my dot to where my putter would make contact.”

The 22-year-old top-ranked American said she was overwhelmed by the support she received following the loss. She didn’t let it keep her from the game, playing a round with her brothers just two days after the ordeal.

Golf Channel insider Tim Rosaforte said Wednesday that the USGA, per a source, has not ruled out changing the call-in rule. Many pros, reacting to the USGA and R&A change, thought the amendment could have gone one step further to eliminate viewer call-ins. Thompson is in that camp.

“Do I think it’s right?” Thompson said. “Not really, but it’s not my say.”

courtesy of Marika Washchyshyn (golf.com)

Lee Janzen, 50, and Cole Hammer, 15, among the U.S. Open qualifiers

RIO GRANDE, PUERTO RICO - MARCH 05:  Lee Janzen plays his shot from the 13th tee during round one of the Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular at Trump International Golf Club on March 5, 2015 in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico.  (Photo by Michael Cohen/Getty Images)

RIO GRANDE, PUERTO RICO – MARCH 05: Lee Janzen plays his shot from the 13th tee during round one of the Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular at Trump International Golf Club on March 5, 2015 in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. (Photo by Michael Cohen/Getty Images)

Two multiple winners of the U.S. Open qualified for next week’s Open at Chambers Bay outside Tacoma, Wash., as did a 15-year-old from Texas and the grandson of a legend.

Two-time Open champions Lee Janzen, who now is playing on the Champions Tour, and South African Retief Goosen qualified in Purchase, N.Y., and Memphis, respectively. Janzen, 50, was the medalist in his qualifier.

Big day. Even played the same tees as all those youngsters,” Janzen Tweeted.

Cole Hammer, 15, who just completed his freshman year in high school, was second in the Dallas qualifier.

Sam Saunders, a PGA Tour rookie and the grandson of Arnold Palmer, earned his second U.S. Open start. Saunders missed the cut in the 2011 Open at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Md.

Meanwhile, Fred Couples and Davis Love III both withdrew from their qualifiers. And David Lingmerth, who won the Memorial on Sunday, failed to qualify for the Open on Monday, as did University of Oregon golf coach Casey Martin.

Other notable qualifiers:

  • Luke Donald finished second in the Jupiter, Fla., qualifier, with friend Michael Jordan in his gallery.
  • Amateur Bryson Dechambeau of SMU, who won the NCAA championship, qualified in Columbus, Ohio, in a field that included many PGA Tour players. Besides talent, Dechambeau is known for playing irons that are all an identical length, 37 1/2 inches.
  • Andres Romero holed an eagle chip on his last hole to qualify on the number in Memphis.
  • Beau Hossler, 20, a University of Texas junior-to-be who finished T-29 in the U.S. Open as a 17-year-old in 2012, tied for second in the Newport Beach, Calif., qualifier. Hossler held the outright lead midway through the second round in the ’12 Open at the Olympic Club.

courtesy of John Strege (golfdigest.com)